Vacation Book #3: The Governess Club: Claire, by Ellie Macdonald

GCI don’t remember where I first saw this cover, but it’s so pretty that I remembered it. That’s a good cover! So it was one of the early purchases I made in my recent book buying binge and yesterday it was my reward for a frustrating too-many hours. What I enjoyed most was the twist on a popular Regency romance setup. I’ve read more than one story with a down-on-her-luck lady is working in service. I like these heroines because they’re usually independent and strong enough to take care of themselves even against heavy odds. What I haven’t seen is an earl serving as a tutor. He’s been forced to find a job (oh dear) and it offers the perfect hiding place. Jacob’s arrogance almost betrays him until Claire corrects him. Their relationship has this feeling of what might happen below stairs. I love a good ball as much as any historical reader, but I enjoyed how The Governess Club: Claire showed romance in the servant’s quarters as well.

Also, it’s the beginning of a series. Visit elliemacdonald.com to find out about the next books!

About the book:

For fans of Christina Dodd and Elizabeth Boyle. Claire Bannister just wants to be a good teacher so that she and the other ladies of the Governess Club can make enough money to leave their jobs and start their own school in the country. But when the new sinfully handsome and utterly distracting tutor arrives, Claire finds herself caught up in a whirlwind romance that could change the course of her future.  Jacob Knightly has a secret. He is actually the notorious Earl of Rimmel. He’s just posing as a tutor to escape his reputation in the city. He never expected to fall in love with the kind and beautiful governess. She is the first person to love him for himself and not his title. But when Jacob’s true identity is revealed, Claire realizes she has risked her reputation and her heart on a man she doesn’t truly know. Will Jacob be able to convince her that the Wild Earl has been tamed and that she is the true countess of his heart?

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s